Wednesday, 30 December 2015

Review for All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
Blurb:
The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.


Review:
"The world breaks everyone and afterward, many are strong at the broken places."

"You are all the colors in one at full brightness"

Review might have spoilers!

Okay this isn't going to be like my usual reviews. All the Bright Places was such a moving read. The blurb will pretty much tell you what you need to know about the book. But after I read the book I just couldn't stop thinking. Those are the best kind of books, the ones that make you think and stay on your mind. When I first saw the cover for the book, way before it was released, I knew I wanted to read it. I had it marked on my TBR just as fast, and soon as it released I grabbed a copy for myself.

I like to think that there is a time for things. That sometimes everything aligns just so that the universe hands you exactly what you need, exactly something that will push you forward, something that just makes you understand this messy messy world we live in. I couldn't have read All The Bright Places at a better time. Let me warn you this isn't spoiler free again and I just need to get it out there.

So back on track.... this book somehow just made sense and just clicked. Maybe because I've been in a dark place and relating with a character makes it seem not so lonely. It just makes everything a little less morbid and maybe a little bit brighter.

It makes me think, think, think. I finished this in a day because I absolutely couldn't put it down. Couldn't shush the voices of Theo and Violet screaming at me - read, read, read.

Maybe all this doesn't make sense, maybe it does. But I just needed it to be out there. I just needed to let you know, whoever you may be. I especially loved the authors note (make sure you read it, for me please).
In the light of recent events I find it necessary to voice my support, to show my solidarity, to let all those that need it know that YOU ARE NOT ALONE.

I love how she put it in her note -
"If you think something is wrong, speak up." We all need to speak up, stand up to the bullies and to take a stand for ourselves and for those that cannot do it for themselves.

Love always
TJ ♥

No comments:

Post a Comment